Geography: An island off Australia south coast, same latitude as the South Island of New Zealand. Area: 90,758 square Kilometers, about two-thirds of the area of South Island of New Zealand.


Capital: Hobart. The second oldest city in Australia. David Collins, the First Lieutenant Governor, name the land after Lord Hobart.

Climate: a cool temperate climate with four distinct seasons. Spring from September to November.

Indigenous: Parlevar or Palawa are the indigenous of Tasmania. People are thought to have crossed into Tasmania approximately 40,000 years ago via a land bridge between the island and the rest of mainland Australia during the last glacial period. According to genetic studies, once the sea levels rose flooding the Bassian Plain, the people were left isolated for approximately 8,000 years until European exploration during the late 18th and early 19th centuries.


Prehistory Map



Current Map


Colonial history: The Dutch crew of Abel Tasman was the first known group of Europeans to reach Tasmania. On 24 November 1642, Abel Tasman sighted and reached the west coast of Tasmania and named it Anthoonij van Diemenslandt after the name of his sponsor, the Dutch governor of the Dutch East Indies. Tasman claimed formal possession of the land on 3 December 1642. The name of the land was shortened to Van Diemen's Land by British later. French explorers led by Marc-Joseph Marion du Fresne landed on the South coast of the island 1772. British explorer Captain James Cook also sighted the island in 1777, and numerous other European seafarers made landfalls, adding a colourful array to the names of topographical features. It was not known to be an island until Matthew Flinders and George Bass circumnavigated it in 1798–99. 3rd December 1825, the island was proclaimed to be an independent colony from New South Wales, and officially renamed Tasmania in honour of its first European discoverer on 1 January 1856.

The first settlement was by the British on the eastern bank of the Derwent estuary in 1803, as a penal colony and defensive outpost against the presence of the French. The following year, the second settlement was established by Captain David Collins, 5 km to the south on the western side of the Derwent, where fresh water was more plentiful. The latter settlement became known as Hobart Town, later shortened to Hobart, after the British Colonial Secretary of the time, Lord Hobart. The first settlement was later abandoned.

Natural inhabitants:

·         Animals: Tasmanian devil, Wombat, Pademelon, Dolphin, Little penguin, Whale, and Platypus.

·         Plants: Huon pine, Decidous beech (Fagus), and Pandani.

Sceneries: Mount Wellington, Huon Valley, Cradle Mountain, Freycinet National Park.

Historical sites: Port Arthur, Penitentiary Chapel, Cascade Female Factory, Coal Mines.

Historical Cities/Towns: Richmond, Launceston, Ross, Oatlands, Devonport.

Museum and Exhibitions: The Museum of Old and New Art (MONA), Royal Tasmania Botanic Garden.

Events: 11th Nov. 2015, Remembrance Day; Salamanca Market; Southern light; Humpback whales return south; Little penguins breeding.

Local produce: Leatherwood honey, Manuka honey, Tea-Tree honey, Truffle, Truffled Bush honey, Tasmanian salmon, Huon Valley wood crafts.

How to Get There? Fly to Hobart via: Sydney, Australia; Melbourne, Australia; Wellington, New Zealand.